OneRoof - a 6 month review

by Alistair Helm in


OneRoof logo.jpg

OneRoof has now been active in the property portal space for just over 6 months and I thought it would be of value to review its success and see what if anything has been the response of the competitors.

When I reviewed this new aspirant back in April, I highlighted what I believed would be the challenges it would face in securing listings and engaging an audience. As ever, these are the two inextricably linked components of a dual-side market that are at the heart of a property portal. For without content, there is no value for a consumer audience, and equally without a consumer audience there is no value for content providers, especially if they are asked to pay for content display.

After 6 months in the market, OneRoof has made significant gains in one of these areas - listing content. From the starting position of having just Bayleys as the foundation content provider they have added a 3 more of the major 5 companies in the industry.

Screen Shot 2018-11-19 at 11.00.04 AM.png

Lacking just Harcourts from the stable of content, I would say that OneRoof now has close to 80% of all real estate agent listings. A significant gain in the past 6 months. At this time no real estate company is paying for a base subscription of unlimited listings, but clearly any misgivings that the industry owners of Realestate.co.nz had in supporting a competitor have been largely ignored in favour of exposing their clients’ listings to as wide an audience as possible.

Touching on that point of ‘free’ base subscriptions, nothing as ever is for free for long and I would suspect that OneRoof will adopt a ‘pay per listing’ model or monthly subscription sometime in 2019. In the meantime their premium product offering is being extensively marketed to agents either as a standalone offering or as an appealing bundled offering with print pages in Herald Homes. This bundling is a very powerful model that uniquely will see a high priority given to OneRoof on the marketing portfolio offered by agents to their clients and I expect to see emerging revenue results for OneRoof in the 2018 full year accounts of parent company NZME.


CONSUMER AUDIENCE

Now this is where I fear OneRoof has a long way to go to seriously challenge the powerful leading incumbents of Trade Me Property and Realestate.co.nz, not that they are not vulnerable, but they do hold a strong and well established brand franchise.

I do not have access to the most accurate and insightful measures for digital platforms, that being Google Analytics or Nielsen digital ratings. I therefore have been tracking the relative performance of OneRoof and its competitors using a global tracking tool by the name of SimilarWeb. This Spanish company analyses web traffic to create a global ranking of all websites and thereby provide detailed estimates for monthly audience and source of audience.

I recognise that the absolute data points reported on SimilarWeb may not be accurate, however when analysing OneRoof, together with Homes.co.nz and Realestate.co.nz on the same platform over the past 6 months it is possible to infer objectivity to their relative performance. It is this comparative perspective that I am interested to present and analyse. Unfortunately SimilarWeb is unable to provide data for Trade Me Property as it is not possible to extract the property data from the main domain of Trade Me as SimilarWeb only tracks primary domains.

OneRoof has grown a relatively sizeable audience in a short space to time. An audience that within the 3rd month had surpassed Homes.co.nz and is currently around half the size of Realestate.co.nz in estimated scale of visits. Again it is worth noting that SimilarWeb can only monitor web based traffic and therefore no analysis has been undertaken on the relative scale of audience to mobile apps for any of these platforms.

Screen Shot 2018-11-19 at 9.47.08 PM.png

Whilst as stated SimilarWeb does not track Trade Me Property it is possible to infer a relative traffic in proportion to Realestate.co.nz based on the comments made at the recent investor presentation of Trade Me where it was stated that their traffic is ‘>2x’ the unique audience of their largest competitor.

Screen Shot 2018-11-19 at 9.52.00 PM.png

In relative terms given how short a time OneRoof has been in operation it appears to be attaining a scale around 25% that of the largest player in the market which is impressive.

However as ever statistics can be misleading when you only observe the headline numbers and fail to dig a little deeper.

When it comes to online traffic a key question that needs to be asked is what is the source of that traffic, is it:

  • Direct traffic - driven by domain name URL being keyed in, this is a key measure of brand awareness?

  • Search engine traffic which comprises organic search a reflection of deep Search Engine Optimisation, together with paid search traffic from Adwords?

  • Social media traffic which also can be through organic or paid traffic?

This is another reason why I favour SimilarWeb, as in addition to tracking traffic on the web for all sites it also track the origin of traffic and this is so enlightening within this segment of property portals in NZ. Detailed below is the comparative make up of the traffic to each of the 3 portals and one data point above all leaps out.

Screen Shot 2018-11-20 at 6.33.10 AM.png

Close on two thirds of all traffic to OneRoof last month was referral traffic, compared to virtually nothing for Homes or Realestate.co.nz. What is the source of this referral traffic? You don’t have to look far to find out that the vast majority 99.92% of all this traffic originates from NZHerald.co.nz.

From day one OneRoof has benefited from the fact that the NZ Herald website rebranded all property articles as OneRoof articles and all property articles are hosted on the oneroof.co.nz domain powering this massive traffic.

So the reality is that two thirds of OneRoof traffic originates from news articles and ad links on the NZ Herald website. I do however concede that once on the OneRoof site, these consumers do browse listings as the number of pages per visit is 4.2 according to SimilarWeb - that compares to 8.5 pages per visit for Realestate.co.nz and 6.4 pages for Homes. I should also point out I have been tracking all of these sites since March and there has been no variance in any of these metrics.

The fact that OneRoof is leveraging the media presence of NZ Herald to drive audience is no surprise, I foreshadowed it in my April article under the section “Media Family”. It’s been the highly successful strategy of Domain.com.au in Australian which leveraged the Fairfax media stable of digital platforms to build a massive audience. However their market leading competitor Realestate.com.au was not slow to bring this to the attention of ist shareholders who wondered how Domain had grown such an audience. Their investor report of 2016 showed that Domain traffic was made up of 70% news articles and just 30% property listings as compared to Realestate.com.au which equally leveraged News Corp digital property news for traffic but only to the tune of 8% of total traffic.

As a further data point to the relative audience across the 3 main portals I would offer up my current property listing which has received 5,276 page views on Trade Me, 1,789 page views on Realestate.co.nz and 382 page views on OneRoof - the listings received similar premium advertising packages on all 3 platforms as part of a significant marketing campaign. These stats whilst a sample of one would seem to support the conclusion that OneRoof has a long way to go to build a consumer franchise to support the premium advertising solutions; having said that they have everything going for them, a great platform and user experience, a strong brand building programme and massive industry support.


COMPETITIVE RESPONSE

As to that comment at the start of this article questioning what if anything has been the reaction of the competitors. Well to be honest when it comes to Realestate.co.nz I suspect nothing. Realestate.co.nz continues to show no signs of any activity - no decision yet even after 18 months as to whether they have a viable new site; nor as to an aligned and unified view of their shareholders, who rightly could and in my view should have seen OneRoof as a real threat and looked for unity within the industry to rally around the industry owned portal.

As for Trade Me, they have quietly got on with the job in hand launching an excellent new premium product which is delighting agent customers, their shareholders and the consumer. In the long term I fear for the future of Realestate.co.nz as OneRoof is undoubtedly going to ‘eat their lunch’.